Short story prize shortlist announced

Stories by five writers have been shortlisted in The National Short Story Prize, a new annual award which celebrates the contemporary British short story. The award aims to re-establishing the importance of the British short story.

The five short listed stories will be broadcast each night from the 10th April to the 15th and the winning entry will be announced on the 15th May, live from the ceremony, on BBC Radio 4’s flagship arts programme, ‘Front Row’.

The shortlisted stories are:

  • The Flyover by Rana Dasgupta.
  • Rana Dasgupta was born in England in 1971, and grew up in Cambridge . He moved to Delhi in 2001 where he began work on the idea of a story cycle using folktale and myth. In 2005 he published a novel, Tokyo Cancelled, containing a number of stories. The Flyover is taken from this first novel.

  • Men of Ireland by William Trevor.
  • Celebrated short story writer William Trevor was born in County Cork and now lives in Devon . His writing has won him numerous awards, including the Whitbread and his most recent novel ‘The Story of Lucy Gault’ was short-listed for the Mann Booker. In 1999 he received the prestigious David Cohen British Literature Prize in recognition of a lifetime’s literary achievement.

  • The Safehouse by Michel Faber.
  • Michel Faber was born in Holland , brought up in Australia and now lives in the Scottish Highlands. His novels include ‘Under the Skin’ and ‘The Crimson Petal and the White’. ‘The Safehouse’ is taken from his latest collection of short stories, ‘The Fahrenheit Twins’which was published last year to critical acclaim. He has won several short story awards including the Neil Gunn, Ian St James and Macallan.

  • The Ebony Hand by Rose Tremain.
  • ‘The Ebony Hand’ appears in Rose Tremain’s lastest collection, ‘The Darkness of Wallis Simpson’, and was broadcast on Radio 4 in the afternoon reading slot on publication. Rose Tremain’s writing ranges from nine novels, (including ‘Restoration’ ‘Music and Silence’ and ‘The Colour’) to a series of short-story collections, most recently ‘The Darkness of Wallis Simpson’. Her work has won her numerous accolades and awards, including The Angel Literary Award, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize (for fiction), and the Whitbread Novel Award.

  • An Anxious Man by James Lasdun.
  • James Lasdun has published several short story collections, including ‘The Seige’. The title story of this collection was made into a film, ‘Beseiged’ , by Bernado Bertolucci. His poetry has also won him much praise. He was short-listed for the T.S. Elliot prize in 2002. He has received the prestigious Dylan Thomas Award. His second novel, Seven Lies, has just been published by Cape . Born in Britain, he lives currently in the United States.The winning author will receive £15,000, the runner up £3,500 and the other three short listed stories £500 each.

    The National Short Story Prize is a collaboration between NESTA (the National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts), BBC Radio 4 and Prospect magazine, and it’s funded by NESTA. It is administered in conjunction with Booktrust and Scottish Booktrust.

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    %d bloggers like this: