Jerwood Aldeburgh First Collection Prize 2006/7

The Poetry Trust invites submissions from publishers or individual poets for its annual prize awarded to the author of what in the opinion of the judges is the best first full collection of poetry published in Great Britain and Eire in the preceding year.

UK, England, Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland, East England
Deadline: 31 Jul 2006

The winner will receive:
* a cheque for £3,000
* a week of paid ‘protected’ writing time in Aldeburgh
* a fee-paying invitation to read at the Aldeburgh Poetry Festival 2007
(a unique opportunity to present his/her poems to Britain’s largest and most appreciative poetry audience).
The winner will be announced at the 18th Aldeburgh Poetry Festival, which
takes place on 3-5 November 2006.

Any first collection of at least 40 pages published in Britain or Eire between 1st September 2005 and 31st July 2006 is eligible.
Three bound or proof copies with a note of the date of publication must be received by 31st July 2006.

All entries to:
Jerwood Aldeburgh First Collection Prize
The Cut, 9 New Cut, Halesworth
Suffolk IP19 8BY
The shortlist of up to five titles will be released in October 2006.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: