The Scotiabank Giller Prize announces shortlist

Rawi Hage, Vincent Lam, Pascale Quiviger, Gaétan Soucy and Carol Windley are the five authors shortlisted for The Scotiabank Giller Prize, possibly Canada’s highest paying literary award.

Jurors Adrienne Clarkson and Michael Winter announced the shortlist on Tuesday, October 3 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Toronto.

Jack Rabinovitch founded the Prize in 1994 in memory of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller.

The five finalists were chosen from a longlist of 15 books drawn from 101 titles submitted for consideration by 36 Canadian publishing houses.

The shortlisted finalists are:

The winner will receive C$40,000 and will be announced at a gala black tie dinner and awards ceremony to be held at Toronto’s Four Seasons Hotel on November 7.

Each of the four finalists will receive C$2,500.

Related story:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: