EDS Dylan Thomas Prize set to announce winner

One of the literary world’s highest paying awards, The EDS Dylan Thomas Prize, will announce its winner this Friday on the famous author’s birthday. 

Having already whittled down the entries to a short list of six, the judging panel will be unveiling the talented winner, who will walk away with the coveted £60,000 prize.  The evening will be presented by broadcaster and author, John Gower, and attending the event will be Dylan Thomas’s daughter and Patron of the Prize, Aeronwy Thomas, who will be presenting the award. 

The biennial Prize, established to honour the internationally esteemed works of Dylan Thomas, is open to any published writer in the English language under the age of thirty.  With a £60,000 winning reward, it has become one of the world’s largest prizes in the literary world.

Screenwriter and BAFTA award-winner Andrew Davies, Chair of the judging panel, said:

“We are all very excited that the time to choose the final winner of the prize is now upon us. Judging the EDS Dylan Thomas Prize has been an incredibly enjoyable experience as all of the submitted work has been of an excellent standard.  There are so many creative young writers out there, and I am honoured to be part of a Prize which celebrates their talent and encourages them to keep writing.  I am very much looking forward to awards night and rewarding this year’s winner.”

Professor Peter Stead, the Prize’s founding Chairman, said:

“When we first discussed setting up the prize we had no idea that it would be so well received. The quality of all the entries, particularly those in the short list were outstanding, and picking the winner will be a very difficult task. The judging panel will undoubtedly see a lot of debate and deliberation in the coming days.”

The final award ceremony, where the winner will be announced, will be held on Dylan Thomas’ birthday, Friday 27th October, in his hometown of Swansea.

The media are invited to the ceremony on Friday 27th October at the Brangwyn Hall in Swansea, which will be attended by Chair of Judges, Andrew Davies; Prize founder, Prof. Peter Stead; screenwriter and renowned Welsh poet, Menna Elfyn; The Independent newspaper editor, Simon Kelner; acclaimed American Welsh novelist, Paul Watkins; American poet and academic, Kurt Heinzelman and EDS Marketing Director, Roger Alderson along with all shortlisted authors and their representatives.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: