The Shiva Naipaul Memorial Prize 2006/07

The Shiva Naipaul Memorial Prize is awarded annually to the writer best able to describe a visit to a foreign place or people, in an essay of up to 3000 words.

The award will not be for travel writing in the conventional sense, but for the most acute and profound observation of a culture alien to the writer. Such a culture might be found as easily within the writer’s native country as outside it.

The award is open to English language writers of any nationality under the age of 35 on the closing date for entries (31 December 2006). The winner will receive a cash prize of 3,000 U.K. pounds. The winning entry will be published in The Spectator.

Details from: Lucy Vickery, The Spectator.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: