Nicola Monaghan, Author of ‘The Killing Jar’

Nicola Monaghan’s debut novel The Killing Jar won the Author’s Club Best First Novel Award at the Arts Club in Mayfair earlier this month.

The shortlist included the 2006 Orange New Writers winner Naomi Alderman; the Costa Book of the year winner, Stef Penney; Giraffe by J.M. Ledgard; Electricity by Ray Robinson; Bareback by Kit Whitfield, and Portrait of an Unknown Woman by Vanora Bennett.

The Authors Club is voted on by members out of a shortlist of 50 novels with an overall adjudicator making the final choice — this year’s adjudicator was Andrew O’Hagan.

Previous winners of the award include Saturday Night and Sunday Morning by Alan Sillitoe, footsteps Nicola Monaghan is always happy to follow.

Source of message: EMIT Writers News, June 2007.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: