Three Authors win NAMA Awards

Three titles have won prizes in Zimbabwe’s most prestigious arts awards, National Arts Merit Awards(NAMA).

The Uncertainty of Hope by Valerie Tagwira scooped the Outstanding Fiction Book prize, ahead of White Man Crawling by John Eppel and Tears of Water by Christopher Gwata.

Coming Home by Olley Tsino Maruma took the Outstanding First Creative Published Work award, beating Echoes Of Young Voices by Various Young Authors and The New Voices Magazine edited by Aleck Kaposa.

The Woodcutter by Enock Chihombori won the Outstanding Children’s Book award, ahead of Bingo The Greedy Dog by Maxwell Mutami and Mashiripiti Edehwe RaRungano by Simbarashe Kavenga.

The NAMA awards are Zimbabwe’s equivalent of the Oscars and honour artists who would have excelled in various arts genres. They have been running since 2002 and are administered by the National Arts Council of Zimbabwe.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: