Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition


A major new Scottish and international poetry competition — named in honour of Edwin Morgan, Scotland’s first national poet — is now open for entries.

  • First Prize: £5000
  • Second Prize: £1000
  • Third Prize: £500

The distinguished panel of judges for the inaugural year of this competition are: Colette Bryce, Donny O’Rourke and Richard Price.

There will be a special prize-giving event at which winners can read their work.

The deadline for entries is 2 June 2008.

For full details on how to enter visit www.vitalsynz.co.uk.

Source of message: EMIT Writers News (April).

Comments
2 Responses to “Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition”
  1. i am a cameroonian and i am an aspiring poet and writer. in my collection i have 250 poems still unpublished due to the state of poverty. i wish to ask for help and get published under edwin morgan and take part in the poetry competition. ia m ageds 18 and a student in literature and other arts subjects. i know that at first you will not believe my talents given by god in creativity as i have and epic called THE LAST DAY’S TALE made ofover 2000 verses and 500 stanzas (quardrains) with rhyming couplets and 9 syllables per line.the next i am writing which will outsize the above is THE SLAVE,S TALE, an 18 century poem based on slavery and the trade in which a slave tells his sad story of his birth,growth,capture,journey,sale, and slavery.i wish that this poem should shake cameroon and the world as it is written by a child. children too can be talented like Shakespeare, John Milton, BUNYAN and my icon too,EDWIN MORGAN.

    IF YOU WANT PROOF OF MY WORKS THEN IW ILL SHOW THEM IF ASKED.BELOW IS ONE OF MY SHORT ELEGIES;

    AN ELEGY FROM NFORCHE GERALD

    THE FOETUS

    Oh! Now I know the cruelty of man
    Who leads and kills by his own bad hand,
    And enjoys himself in such a game.
    Friend, truly his life is very lame.

    As I speak, I am just a month old,
    But ma wants to leave me in the cold.
    Many a concoction has she drunk
    To have me killed as if I were wrong.

    Despite my age in my mother’s womb
    I know that I am quite in a tomb,
    And quite well acquainted with man’s sin
    More than an adult knows hardly seen.

    How I weep as I have been deformed!
    How I wish that the world be informed
    Of my mum’s sin and lascivity,
    And her many thoughts calamity!

    Now I weep, and weep for my young life,
    If I will be strong to stand and strive
    As another concoction flows in,
    Bringing with it a shower of man’s sin.

    BY NFORCHE GERALD

    SO I NEED YOUR HELP.I AM NOT ONLY GOOD IN POETRY BUT ALSO IN PROSE.I HAVE WRITTEN ‘”THE TREASURE HUNTERS” AND ANOTHER WHICH I AM STILL TO FINISH”KING LUGARD’S RING”

    I AM REALLY SORRY TO USE THIS AREA FOR COMMENTS INSTEAD TO SEND THIS MESSAGE.EXCUSE ME.I AM STILL CREATING A WEBSITE WHICH IS GIVEN.

    WHILE WAITING,I REMAIN;
    GERALD

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

